Living with Pain: A Blog Update

Here’s the thing: I like writing. I like online communities (usually) and using them to encourage people. Here’s the other thing: I’m in physical pain every day. And when I am done working for the day, sometimes the pain is so much that I can’t open up the laptop to do these things.

While work is a struggle that I’m continuing to talk to my doctor about, I still like it. I like accomplishing tasks and getting paid to do it. I like bringing home a steady paycheck. I like the people that I see every day. What I don’t like is not being able to pursue my own hobbies and personal goals outside of work. But that is the choice that I have made. Which means that my plans and goals for this blog, which I had mapped out for myself, will not be accomplished anytime soon. Definitely not according to the schedule I set. Like so many things in my life, I can’t commit until the day of. Even then, that may change hour by hour.

I recently read 1 Corinthians 15:57 which reads “But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.” It fit right in with my mindfulness goal of being in the present and accepting what is happening to me, even if what is happening means I am laying down in a dark room when I want to be doing something fun. My success isn’t measured by my growth in work and checking off goals. My success is in how I love God and everyone I know.

I want to bring you this reminder I saw this morning, courtesy of frizzkidart and healthyisthenewskinny


I hope it brings comfort and some peace like it did to me. What media (art, images, books, movies, etc) have brought you comfort and peace recently?

…PS, please subscribe!

One thought on “Living with Pain: A Blog Update

Leave a Reply

